This Is Not An Advert!

David Davis

Hi Everybody!

David Davis, 61 years old, 62 next March, apparently this is the average age of a member of the BMFA! I've been a member of this forum for some time but thought it about time I made a proper job of introducing myself .

I built my first model a Keil Kraft Ajax, a rubber powered free flight model, when I was eleven. (Younger modellers please ask your granddad what a free flight rubber powered model is.) My Uncle Geoff taught me how to build. He was a draughtsman by trade and built beautiful models. This was followed by a Keil Kraft glider, neither of these flew very well nor were they very well-built. Had I stopped there I wouldn't be writing this now, but having saved up my wages from my paper round I bought a Mills 75 from Henry J Nicholls of 308 Holloway Road and put it into a Veron Cardinal, a small free flight cabin monoplane. One windless day with my father and his brother who was also an aeromodeller, we flew it, filling the tank and launching it until it was a tiny cross in the sky. Then it would glide down and land a short distance away before the process was repeated. Geoof couldn't join us because he was in the last stages of cancer from which he died a few months later. He was only 35. 

I didn't know it then but I was hooked.

Until I was fifteen I built control line stunt, combat and team race models as well as a few free flight gliders and competition powered models, then two things happened; I joined a rock band and I discovered girls!