Trainer list

Tim Mackey

Advert

Having been an instructor for a long time now, I personally would not reccomend a three channel model in this day and age. There's no financial saving these days and it just prolongs the learning experience ie the student gets to grips with three channels and then has to learn the new ballgame of ailerons including getting a suitable model JMHO

i don't see why anyone would want to build there own trainer with the multitude of ARTFs around. They're an almost disposable item to teach you to fly, not something to get 'emotionally attached' to from the building board to flying. As a newbie, i'd much rather get flying straight away.

agree with Ulty, 3ch trainers are obsolete and harder to fly in stronger winds, especially vintage models. Ailerons are a must. 

People build models because the building itself is half the fun of the whole thing.
Building a trainer can teach a lot about construction, covering & radio installation.
They also tend to be stronger than their ARTF alternatives.
The job satisfaction from building  'just' a trainer can be very worthwhile.
Each to their own.

The only problem with beginners buiding a trainer is quite often I've found they build in warps and twists and present the instructor with an ill flying model. The way ARTF trainers are these days as a rule they fly straight as a die and give the trainee a good experience. I think if they do have the building bug to put it on hold for later models, again JMHO

1. I compiled this list for those who want to build a trainer, perhaps those who built models many years ago and are returning to the hobby, perhaps building an R/C aircraft for the first time. Those who would prefer to buy an ARTF are already well catered for.