Futaba 6EXA

Stephen  Harrison

I purchased a set from my model shop last year for 135.99 for my initial set up to model flying. Out of the box it looked impressive and then i opended the manual. After looking at all of the facilities and settings i was amazed as to what it could do. I installed in the plane and set it up in my transmitter. the radio features EXPO, Dual rates, 'V' tail mixing, flaperon setings, just to name a few. in my trainer i only used EXPO to calm the controls down and that was about it. when I had 2 planes the model memory is very useful (6 models). I have filled the memory in mine and have 2 more planes on the way which is a bit of a problem. the new version also features a throttle cut that once set up saves trouble and allows a quick way to cut the engine.

I would rate the controller 10/10 as a beginner because of it's facilities and reliability. as a novice pilot I give it 9/10 as it hasn't quite got enough model memory. another piece of information is the coding - after working in a model shop for a while i discovered the code means this-

6EX - radio name
6EXAP - PCM version (aircraft)
6EXHP - PCM version (helicopter)
6EXAPL/R - (L/R)indicate mode
(L-Mode 2, R - Mode 1)
the radio is avaliable in a number of sets

6EXAP deluxe - 179.99 (pcm reciver)
6EXAP - 129.99 - standard set
6EXAP TX - 57.99 - TX only
6EXHP - 139.99 - heli feature throttle
hold

hope this is some help.

• 3 weeks later...
Are you using it for flying or for cars, boats etc? (35mhz for flying, 27 & 40mhz everything else.)

It will work fine with any Hitec, Futaba or most other rxs. But remember you get what you pay for! Just be sure that use the same crystal make as the rx it is installed in.

hi trevor