Buying

DIYBob1962

Hi All,

I have a friend who has bought a Century Hawk helicopter including taki 40 engine, futaba servos, trainer landing gear, batteries, charger, fuel etc. about a year ago. He has never managed to get it started and now has a young child and no spare time. He wants £100 for the lot. I have no knowledge whatsoever of these things and want to know if its worth having a go with it.

What do you reckon?

Thanks

ps he tells me the Taki 40 is notoriously hard to start.

Edited By DIYBob1962 on 07/07/2010 13:03:21

Advert

Possibly because no-one has heard of a Taki engine?  I certainly haven't...and there's not that many heli enthusiasts who post regularly on this forum.

What I would say is that if you are a beginner, find a heli orientated club or competent flier before having a go or it's likely to end in tears (or worse).  An unknown history and possible fiddling by your friend is not a good basis for success on your own.

I'd guess it would cost a lot more to buy this set-up new but without careful assessment by an expert I wouldn't like to give any recommendation, even if I were up to date on heli prices.

Apparently its a TOKI 40, my mistake, american engine, Sorry I thought I was posting in the heli bit.

YEP just double checked..... this is the heli part of the forum. Ah well. I guess I will try another forum. Cheers

Edited By DIYBob1962 on 07/07/2010 23:49:24

I'm a dedicated "petrol head" and Toki are a bit on the edge even for me. They are a japanese outfit who mainly do r/c car engines - but they're not even really mainstream there I think. They do make a very small range of heli engines.

A £100 sounds cheap for a 40 size nitro heli. But its only cheap if it all works and its set up correctly.

I'm not into heli's but these things I do know;

1. Heli's need an ultra reliable engine to survive - all the heli guys I know fly big name engines - mainly OS