Recievers & Crystals

Shaun Clarke

Hi Shaun, I can't really comment about clubs in UK, because I'm in France..But from what I read, I'm sure it's welcomed. After all, it makes life easier, and safer. You are right, no crystals. The transmitter and the receiver  make contact automatically. I've been using this for a few months, and now have a bundle of 35 kit that's permanently under the bed. The Futaba sustem is a wee bit limited (for example, only 6 model memories, but how many do you really need?) The big advage in my experience is that the link between the Rx and Tx is solid. If you haven't flown much, it's difficult to explain, but there are no little unexplained glitches

Ernie

I cant find much info on it. But as I understand it, the tranny and the reciever 'find' a free frequency within 2.4GHz range that is unused and off you go. Incidently my first club meet last night discussed glitches...even a wire fence can bounce signals around and cause a glitch. Dont mobile phones operate at somewhere around 2.4GHz?

There is an awful lot of equipment using on or around 2.4GHz. I believe mobile phones and Wi-Fi to name but two.

Im not going to shout down 2.4 as I have absolutly no experience of it and obviously by reading this thread there are at least two happy users! However my personal opinion is that 35mhz is tried and tested and works very well. 2.4 is in its infancy and I would like to watch the market a little more before I bought into it.

From memory wasnt there a high frequency system launched 20+ years back? Cant remember who made it though and I dont think it lasted. However thatmaybe due to lack of technology at the time?