Some advice please

lewis jackson

right im new to model flying. i picked up an ECO 7 jet ranger with many extras off a friend.

i also fancy getting a fixed wing, not sure on leccy or fuel.

just wanted to know what the rules and regs are on flying. i have heard you can fly electric anywhere?? and i have heard things like needing liscences to fly fuel?

just wanted to clear this up.

regards

lewis

Advert

Lewis

Just depends on the local guidelines there are some parks where you can and some where you can't - just depends on the local authority or town council etc.. I fly my small electric models on an area of 3 football pitches well away from houses (there are no kids play areas) where model flying is permitted.  

As Tim says, the A cert is required by most clubs (who will help you achieve it) as a standard of safe solo flying at the club site. 

Hi Lewis [img s=60¬50]http://www.modelflying.co.uk/members/images/5044/homer.gif[/img]

I don't wish to sound stern, but you are either very rich or very niaive. Even the toys they sell as aircraft these days can be a lethal weapon in the hands of a novice and you do not sound experienced enough to have procurred an insurance policy that covers you for anything up to £5,000,000.00 or joined the BMFA which I believe is the figure that they cover their members for.

Do you not feel that, as a novice, your chopper might decide one day to veer off into someone's face? Can you afford that?

Don't get me wrong, I'm a novice, but I suspect with a litle more experience of life than yourself. Even a novice who has joined BMFA but is flying without supervision I would imagine would be hard pressed to get them to pay for an accident in the local park, but that is only supposition based on the way I would feel if \i was paying!!