Electric, glow or petrol?

Nev Haycox

I have a Seagull Zlin 50 in it’s box waiting for a power plant, but I am in three minds as to which way to go, electric, four stroke glow or petrol. I would therefore be interested to know what you would use as a power plant if the Zlin 50 were yours.

I have no experience with IC, only electric, but wish to give it a try at some point, so bare that in mind if that’s the route you would take. Please be specific and give make, model and size etc.

Go on have your say.

I look forward to your suggestions.

Nev.

Advert

What wingspan is it? Seagull seem to make a lot of their planes in various sizes. If it is the 67 inch one which is the one I have found, the engine reccomendation (four stroke glow) is 91-100 cu.inch.

A DLE 30 sounds rather large. I would go 4-stroke glow, maybe a Saito FA100, or a Laser 100 for the best of British!  See what other people say and find out exactly what you want before committing yourself. I would go for an engine over electric, lovely sound!

CS

Edited By ConcordeSpeedbird on 01/07/2012 19:25:33

DLE 20 sounds better. Have a search around on the internet, see what others have done. You can also call your local model shop for help and if you are in a club, ask some IC guys there.

The DLE 20 is unsurprisingly considerably heavier than the Saito FA100 but it is more powerful, and probably better on fuel consumption. It would fly the Zlin well I'm sure. There are lots of other options as well so don't be afraid to search around!

Hope this helps

CS

Dle 30 is way way over the top for the zlin, mine had asp 108 (18cc) and went perfectly, loads of vert with this motor, personally i would not got petrol for zlin i dont think its big enough to warrant it, go petrol and you will need mg servos and extra battery pack, go for large glow pick up asp 108 for about 100 quid or super tigre 2300 for 130 quid the money saved will buy an awful lot of straight fuel