Lama 5

Granddad

I've just recieved a Lama 5 and am having trouble controlling it. I thought they were easy to hover, my mini pred is a piece of cake compared to this, any tips on setting up/ trimming would be greatly appreciated, I' ve seen one flying hands off at the Southern  model Airshow and it was amazing.

Hi Andy

If its the little counter rotating jobbie you are refering to. Compared to the mini pred its a lot lighter and if you are flying it outside it will be blown around the place by the lightest of winds and a struggle to fly  Or am I just stating the obvious?  How does it perform inside?

Al

Hi Al

Yes  its the counter rotating one- I bought it to practice on when I cant get outside, but I'm having trouble getting it off the ground. I have to give it full right rudder to stop it turning, but I thought they were not supposed to do this, I thought the rotors stopped it. It may be obvious but I'm a beginner and the mini pred is going quite well, am I doing it wrong with the lama?

Andy

Hi Andy

Probably stating the obvious  Put in more right trim if its available - if you still have a problem then check your instructions to see how you can ajust the gain and the pot settings (usually on the receiver) to ajust the motors speeds.

The other thing to watch with this type of helicopter is that all of a sudden they can  start to spin for no apparent reason. This is normally caused by wacking the throttle on quickly and on some models (depending on the quality of the drive parts -usually pastic !) can strip the gear teeth inducing the spin.

good luck

Al

Hi Andy.

I to fly the Robins 22 and this is much the same as yours, make soare both motors have the same speed by un pluging each motor and checking one at a time the lower rota should start up slitly after the top rota and reach the same speed when the stick is in the middel, you can balance the ruder trim on the Rx hope this will help.

happy flying Owen.

• 1 month later...
  • 1 month later...