Advice - moving abroad and need to take everything with me

John Parker 1

Hi all

I am a complete novice. I am about to retire early and move to Fuerteventura in the Canary Islands with my wife (poor us!). I will no longer be able to continue my existing hobbies so I need an absorbing hobby to while away the long, hot days and nights and have decided on building and flying rc aeroplanes ("never, ever, call it a plane" - my hero Douglas Bader). I do hold a PPL so I hope that will stand me in good stead (for the flying part). Purely by chance, since deciding, I discovered on Google Earth that there is a 115m purpose-built tarmac runway less than a km from what will be our house and visited it on our last trip and discovered from the signs that it is owned by a Spanish rc club. I have yet to see any flying but I think it is a good omen.

Before I go I need to buy everything I will need to take with me as I imagine obtaining anything other than general diy stuff on the island will not be possible so I will have to buy online and have it shipped which is both expensive and slow. I have looked through the forums and found much useful advice about tools etc that I may need but my question is, can anyone suggest anything else I will need? I realise this a bit like "how long is a piece of string". I would hat to move out there and start to build only to fund I need a vital something or other, perhaps that only costs a few pounds, that I am going to have to order and have shipped.

I can guess at most of the tools but I don't know what else may need with regard to spares, glues, etc.

My initial intention is to buy an artf to learn on and take a few kits with me (my preference is for scale light aircraft) along with a transmitter (Spectrum dx6i perhaps)

Any suggestions gratefully received.

Regards

John Parker