Advice needed for Electric conversion Vic Smeed Mamselle 38"

Advert

Hi Stewart, If you are patient you will get loads of help here. Myself, I am still learning the the tricks of choices for power trains. For a start I would use the formula of watts/llb. I would assume for the Mamselle, 80 watts per pound weight would be sufficient. More, far clever electric boffins than I may take up the thread. Cheers

Edited By fly boy3 on 24/02/2013 20:48:26

Hi Stewart, as fb3 says, 80W/lb would be plenty for the Mamselle - with some to spare - you'd probably find it flies well on 50-60W/lb. Models and specific motors of that size are a bit outside my normal territory, so I'll leave the answers to those who are familiar with that spec.

Meanwhile, it might be worth browsing Tim Hooper's Pix-E Major thread, which at 42" span and built lightly is not so far from the Mamselle.

Any specific questions, don't hesitatethumbs up

Pete

I think 50 - 60 watts per pound would suffice on an old timer like this, and I suggest a nice slow revving quiet low kv motor, on 3s lipo. You dont stae the AUW but guessing at around 2 - 2.5lb gives us a 150 Watt motor or so.

Something like this perahps on a 9" prop?

15 -20 A esc will be fine ( BEC equipped ) Here,.

Batteries galore, but anything around the 1800 -2500m/a range 3s should be fine

All in one type solution?

Edited By Tim Mackey on 24/02/2013 22:54:04

Crikey mo, a 2 to 2.5lb Mamselle? laugh

A completed Mamselle, built to Vics plan and equipped with lightweight radio should weigh under a pound ready to fly!

50 watts will be ample, I'd suggest a Blue Wonder 1400kv on a 2S 1000, a 10 or 12A esc and an 8x3.8 slo-fly prop. My 48" Tomboy Senior flies very well on a similar setup with a 3S, and my Poppet has a 10gm motor running just 25 watts from a BRC D1811 on a 2S 500. Both are Vic Smeed designs and fly superbly.

"That Vic Smeed knew his onions" as they say round these parts face 1