Kev`s Dawn Flyer Build.

Kevin Fairgrieve

So if you read my Mini Jazz blogg you will know I like to get acquainted with the plan and build article.

So the plan was removed from the "library" RCM&E July 2013 and the build article printed out from the subscriber area here.

001 plan and article (1).jpg

001 plan and article (2).jpg

After work tomorrow I will pop along to the local copy shop and get a set of working plans done. I usually do this as it allows me to return the relevant issue back into the library. Something else I am going to try to get them to do is to print one copy of the wing in reverse. Should make building just that little bit easier.

Kev

Edited By Kevin Fairgrieve on 26/01/2014 15:11:45

My next consideration is the electrics. I have never built an electric plane before so there is a very steep learning curve here.

By looking through the other build blogg`s I came up with the following as a potential power train.

Motor. Turnigy D3530/14 1100KV Brushless Outrunner Motor.

Speed Controller. TURNIGY Plush 40amp Speed Controller.

LiPo`s. Turnigy 2200mAh 3S 20C Lipo Pack.

Seems I was not to far off the mark only needing to substitute the Speed Controller to this one.

Speed Controller. TURNIGY Plush 30amp Speed Controller

Kev

Edited By Kevin Fairgrieve on 26/01/2014 15:52:44

This is exactly the set-up I used originally, it gives you approximately 250 to 280 W. I had to change for 2 reasons. First the plush 40 was broken - so I replaced it by a 45A type and second as I had to order at HK anyway I took a bigger engine as the centre of gravity was too far back. So I am now on a 35/42 1000kv.

So I suppose it is the right set-up who have selected. Try to build the rear part as light as possible to reduce the necessary balance weight in the front.

leave the 40A speed controller, The weight doesn't disturb for the reason of COG.

VA