D/R and Expo settings

trebor

Total flying novice here, looking to start setting up radio for mixes of d/r and expo settings. Can you recommend a couple of mixes for the Ailerons, Elevators and Rudder to get me started for a safe flying experience that is after I have worked out how to program them in sad. Is it possible to program all three into one 3 position switch ? Or will I need a switch for Ailerons, another for Elevators and Rudder making 3 switches in total dont know I have a Spectrum radio if that helps. Ideally I would like one switch set at position 0 as standard, position 1 at 75%, position 2 at 50%. You can tell I,m confused.

Advert

If you are flying a trainer model then you do not need any expo at all. Setting the rates is not done with the % movement on the tranny but by checking the deflection of the control surface and adjusting the radio to get the desired movement. For example you could get the same movement on the surface by using 100% rates and a small arm on the servo or with 50% rates and a long arm. A long arm however will give a slightly sharper response than the small arm.

As for switches you can have one switch per control surface or all together. I use individual switches for ele/aile and never bother with rudder rates as my models are mostly sport/scale.

Which radio do you have and what model are you flying?

Before you even look at dual rates, expo or end point setup ensure you get your control surfaces as close to the recommended settings mechanically. That is done by - set all throw/end point adjustments to 100% then by using the appropriate holes in the servo arms and control horns get the control throws near enough. Then fine tune using servo throw/EPA.

As mentioned you need not worry about expo on a trainer but it may be worth using dual rates set at say 70 - 75% on ail and elevator.