HardSell or optimism

flytilbroke

In the last hour I have had TWO phones calls from RCM&E`s call centre. It appears I only read my mag occasionaly, well according to them that is.

Seems they don`t believe I have a subscription..... perhaps thats because I have never had one of the "freebies"

Anyway both the guys were polite, as is my question.

How many phonecalls is RCM&E gonna get a bill for?

Just need Graham to take a weekend off from his Editor duties and come North to the Loch Leven splashin and he can have fun at a great venue, and do his own reporting.

Advert

Ok David,

A lighthearted saga of never having a Subscriber freebie as every year I re-NEW a subscription. I am registered not to be pestered by marketing, and as such I should need to give permission for contacts, NOT opt-out.

Thanks for the reply though. Perhaps you would like the Loch Leven Splash-in

Regards

I've had two calls as well . On the second one I asked "How did you get hold of my tel no ?".The caller had said on the first call Quote " Do you buy your RCM&E from a shop  & if so  would you be interested in a subscription ??"  to which I replied  that I already HAD a subscription ! Going back to the second call he told me he got my tel no because I HAD a subscription !

I should add, both the first and second caller asked whether I subscribed or bought the magazine from a shop etc., and then when asked how he had obtained our ex-directory number the seond caller said it was from the mag subscription!

Whilst no-one would object to being asked for their views on the content of RCME etc it was apparent that the purpose of the call was to sell subscriptions to other magazines - I think the offer was a starting subscription of 3 for a £. Again, they have a need to drum up business, I guess, but it would be less intrusive to receive this kind of offer by e-mail or through the post rather than by telephone.

End of whinging!