Returning after decades so not total Newbie!

Chris King 3

Hi, I stopped flying electric planes probably 20 years ago and was motivated to get an unfinished (Astra) Spitfire foamie out of the loft after watching Battle of Britain Model Squad on the TV. Thought at least one flight would be better than it being forgotten for ever!

I solved a couple of the problems that forced me to shelve it originally but I have a duff aileron servo which isnt made anymore.

Can anyone recommend a replacement for Protech B109 mini/micro (?) servo please?

Dims are 27x24x9 9g.

Advert

Hi Percy,

Thanks for coming back. You're right a lot has changed! Choice seems the biggest change especially for servos.

Its only servos (ill swap one of the other servos so the wing servos are the same and get two new for the rudder/elevator) and batteries I need so not too worried about price. Just want reliable ones so I dont have to cut any more access panels in the wing to get to the Y cable.

Batteries are my next problem. The old NiCads arent holding much charge and I had them made by SR Batteries in the states as the battery shape was a bit different. Everyone seems to be going NiMh now but it's hard to find an equivalent pack due to different voltages and size of the pack. SR Batteries are still going so ive asked for a price but im sure that wont be cheap!

Broken foamie hinge is the next issue with 50 different options for that!

All good fun though.

Posted by Nigel R on 05/10/2018 08:56:43:

Is that the main flight pack? You sure you want nicd/nimh? Everyone uses lipos these days. They're half (or less) the weight of nicads.

....which might cause CofG problems if the model was designed for Nicads. Also LiPo voltages don't often match up with NiCad voltages, and *might* cause issues with the ESC. I'm also guessing that if the model is that old, it won't be using a brushless motor.