Hobbyking 60A esc problem

LHR Dave

Hi everyone

I have a problem with two brand new esc,s. They are both from Hobbyking and are rated at 60A. Both of these esc,s are doing exactly the same thing.

Once powered up to a fully charged 3s lipo they bleep 3 times to indicate the number of cells on the battery and then nothing.

If I then switch off the transmitter the esc then continues with its start up tones and then the motor starts and will speed up with throttle movement on the tx. The motor will not stop until the tx is switched off.

The receiver has been used before on other models and is fully servicable , I have been flying for many years and have been using electric flight nearly as long . I have never come across this problem before. Am I doing something wrong or do I have two brand new knackered esc,s.?

Your thoughts please?

Cheers. Dave

Advert

Posted by LHR Dave on 23/02/2019 20:34:25:

If I then switch off the transmitter the esc then continues with its start up tones and then the motor starts and will speed up with throttle movement on the tx. The motor will not stop until the tx is switched off.

I can't quite follow this - you seem to have switched the transmitter off, the ESC arms and the motor runs but you say the motor runs until the transmitter is turned off - when did you switch it back on?

If Denis's suggestion hasn't cured your problem, could your throttle be reversed from the direction the ESC expects to see? What transmitter are you using?

If this is the case, then perhaps your failsafe setting is actually giving full throttle to the ESC.