Hello

RC

Hello all,

Completely new to this forum and flying so all very new and exiting/scary for me.

been making and running R/C electric bots for some time but I feel there is now more of a challenge to fly and because of a lack of suitable waters near me, more of an opportunity to "go out to play" as there is a local flying club to me, Thurrock Model Flying Club, for the uneducated/lost, that's in the glorious county of Essex!

I went along to the field last Sunday and was greatly encouraged by the chaps there so it's now time to start saving for a Boomerang and some 2.4 gear. (anyone got a used Boomerang that they want to sell ?).

Looking forward to the build side of the hobby as I am an electro-mechanical engineer by trade so the build process is fascinating and hopefully some of the things I have learnt from the boats will stand me in good stead. Must admit that the black art of "coverings" does seem a little daunting though.

Hope this wasn't too much of a ramble, just pleased to be here.

Advert

Hello Arsee,

Welcome to this fasinating and enjoyable sport/hobby of ours. I hope you have as much pleasure out of it as I have had over the past 30 some odd years.

Hopefully there will be somebody in your new club who will be willing to take you under his wing (no pun intended) and get you on the right track.

I don't know much about the Boomerang as there is only one around in our club and its not finished yet, but I do know that the Irvine Tutor 40 is a good model having taught a couple of guys with one.

Don't wory about coverings, when you get around to this in the future, its not as difficult as it may seem, just needs a bit of patience.

All the best, Simon

Hello,