Power train calculation - a definitive method!

I've spent literally hours searching the internet and have come across various methods of calculating 'power trains'. Similar results are often obtained by using these methods but sometimes there can be differences ie. 3S or 4S liopos ??

Also if you look through the different threads - when people ask for help with a particular set up - disagreement is rife !!!!

So isn't it about time the situation was sorted with a definitive method ?

Personally I don't understand why the calculations don't start with the prop ?

Perhaps an article in the mag would be a good idea !

HELP !!!!!!

Advert

Thanks Martin and Frank - those are two of the many that I have allready come across. Do they give the same results and how do you know they give the correct set ups ??? Also you have to be in front of a computer to use them.

I would rather work things out myself so that I know how the calculations are done.

I'm a beginner Pat but I would ..

Decide on the required Wattage ( ie 150 W per lb for a basic aerobatic)

Convert the Watage to HP ( 1HP = 746 W )

Look at the IC engine specs and pick one with the required HP output.

The prop size for the engine will be given in the engine spec.

No battrey req'd - just a supply of the correct fuel for the engine.

No esc required - just a servo to opperate the throttle.

Hi Geoff.