Another PSS Jet Provost Build Blog

I guess there are going to be lots of these blogs, so in order not to be too repetitive, and since I'm running a bit behind some others with this build, I'm going to concentrate on things which I have either done differently, things which have gone wrong, and things which I think might be of interest to other builders.

This is my first build blog. It's also my first PSS model. I've built a few models of conventional balsa construction in recent years, but always from 'full' kits. This is my first experience of a Traplet 'wood pack', and my first build from a plan since I used to make control-line combat wings in the late 70s! So it should be interesting.

I started construction a couple of weeks ago - I wasn't initially aware of the 'official' start date, but also I'm working to a shorter schedule - hoping to be ready for the Ivinghoe PSS day in mid April.

So, I'll start with the fuselage.

Mistake No 1: I didn't check that I understood what all the parts in the wood pack were before I started building. So having joined the fuselage sides together I have found that there are 2 small parts of the upper fuselage sides which I haven't used. I just assumed that the guys at Traplet had decided that this bit of the fuselage side would all be sanded away, so they must have decided it wasn't necessary. Anyway, it seems to have worked OK without these bits. It was a bit more difficult to position the forward triangular sections without a clear reference, but I managed.

Mistake No 2: I had read the info about the error in F1, but then I forgot to do anything about it until after I had built it into the battery box assembly! - but that was easily fixed.