PSS Wing Loading Help Requested

Hoping for some advice.

I am new to PSS, though have been sloping for a couple of years (Wildthing, phase 6 and some foamies). I am hoping to get one of the Mark Kettle Vulcans (when i get to the top of his order stack) but also considering a conversion from and existing a rtf (I am not a skilled builder) as a second model. I imagine that getting the wing loading in a sensible range would seriously enhance my chances of success, which leads me to the question; What sort of wing loading will be sensible for a moderate wind model in the approx 50" wingspan size range? I suspect that the wing loading of my power models (Acro Wot, Wot4 etc would be too high for a sensible slope version)

Any help much appreciated.

You'll probably get quite varied responses, but the Vulcan has a lot of wing no matter what scale you are at. Sensible or moderate wind I'd say you'd be shooting at around the 20-25 oz sq ft mark, though no doubt will be shot down in flames for that laugh

Don't forget - you can always build it light and strong, then ballast up at a later point if the wind is gusty / painful / terrifying.

Did you have a specific RTF in mind? How about a Tony Nijhuis Vulcan built from a CNC plan pack? Might get the confidence up a bit for a plan build later.

Edited By Andy Meade on 05/05/2015 13:35:27

I'd say you are in the right ball park Andy with 20-25 oz/sq foot - that would provide a nicely 'balanced' model - one that doesn't need a howling gale to fly in yet is loaded sufficiently to ensure forward penetration.

This is a well discussed question - really there is no 'right' figure on wing loading, just some agreed trends/characteristics that you should keep in mind if you wish to optimise the result - more important when designinng your own model I suppose, but it may also help you best choose a PSS conversion subject from the saturated electric and EDF ARTF market.