Day trip to The Orme

Will be arranging a day trip to LLandudno next week whilst the family is on holiday in Prestatyn and was intending on taking something to fly. However I'm relatively new to slope soaring and never flown from The Orme before so would appreciate any advice.

The predicted wind is SE so looking at Google maps am I right in heading for the Hang glider slope from the big car park at the top? Also are there any do's and don'ts for flying up there?

Additionally to blag a day trip out I will need to entertain the wife & kids before/during/after so will be looking for cafe, gift shopping and sight seeing or something interesting for the kids. Again any suggestions very welcome.

Advert

Thanks for the replies. I was hoping to send the family down the hill into town on the tram or cable car if it's operational?

Also meant to say predicted wind is SW, not SE! which is still predicted.

Is there a cafe at the top car park of just the ski center?

Tim, PM sent, Thanks. laugh

Summit itself is not the place to be for our site, I've replied to your PM Chris

SW sees us on the main bowl and access is from another route - Ill join ya if Im free.

Cable car will not operate if windy - as assessed on and during each day. Tram runs in all conditions.

Edited By Tim Mackey on 02/08/2015 15:59:10

What day are you planning to fly, I am away at the moment but might be back in the area, the Orme flies pretty much most wind directions but some are only really suitable for foamies, thankfully the main wind directions are catered for. Check XC Weather before you go and expect it to be more

Flew the Phase 6 yesterday from the top of the tank track car park.
I found it very different from the slopes at home and I suspect it was mostly psychological. The wind was quite strong, almost the strongest I've flown in, and the gusts kept pushing me back from the face. Launching was fun requiring a good grip of the fuselage and a really hefty throw off the edge!