Rib profile delta wing ?

Flyer

I have no experience in specific PSS but delta wing aerodynamics are heavily influenced by the delta shape.

The great root chord and relatively short span makes thinner wing section structurally possible, hence their attraction for trans and super sonic flight.

You will almost by definition have substantial surface area, = skin drag, so you might as well use the delta advantage and use a thinner section to reduce the form drag element.

My own experience suggests a thinner section (5%?) needs less negative camber (thus less drag) than a thick section to achieve satisfactory longitudinal stability but the CofG position can be quite critical for the best glide performance.

I hope this helps.

Edited By Simon Chaddock on 11/02/2017 23:52:01

More importantly I feel a reflex section should be used. More stability and cuts down tip stalling.If you overdo it you can get an undulating flight .A bit like a butterfly sometimes Experiment with some little all balsa chuckies and some blue tack and washers You'll find a flat plate is as good as any section for the most part

#

More importantly I feel a reflex section should be used. More stability and cuts down tip stalling.If you overdo it you can get an undulating flight .A bit like a butterfly sometimes Experiment with some little all balsa chuckies and some blue tack and washers You'll find a flat plate is as good as any section for the most part

#

It is interesting One tenor, what you say about the flat plate wing, as my small Aeronautics library goes back to the 1940s,

And even then, the benefits of the flat plate wing were highly regarded in modelling, due to their simplicity of construction, their relative stiffness in small scales, and of course, the least weight for the most lift from flat materials.

You summed this up well.

We see the benefits of flat plate models at every indoor flying event