Hello from me too

Dave Cunnington

Hi all, I've been lurking here for some time and decided it was time to join.

I'm 74 years young and an ex private pilot, decided to stop restoring cars as a retirement hobby (spannering is getting too difficult) so I'm taking up rc flying instead

Never flown rc before, used to do free flight many many moons ago and currently playing with a sim proves I have a lot to learn

I bought an old Super 60 which is nearly rebuilt and recovered, and also have bought a used Tiger Trainer

I live in Gainsborough Lincs and looking for advice, someone to train me to fly, and perhaps a club to join.

I joined the BMFA at the Nats last Sunday, a great day out.

Rgds DC

• 4 months later...
Advert

I am new to this too, and have spent a fair bit just smashing plane's into the ground, I will join my local club to learn to fly but in the mean time am having a go at building so my experience is not just buy plane, go to park, crash plane and start again, lol. I hope you enjoy your new hobby!!

Thanks guys

We have a time share in Florida each Autumn so I joined a local club out there and got some experience and training but had to return to UK before going solo.......first time driving RC and it was an eye opener !

Back here in UK I've joined RMFC the local club in Retford Notts, and awaiting better weather to continue trying to master this black art !

Having bought some crashed planes from ebay I've quite enjoyed fixing and recovering them, and will put them back on ebay soon - unless you want two cheap trainers Robert ?

Greetings from Flu bound Lincolnshire - I will get better !

Hi Dave

Our club used to fly from a private strip where there were a lot of good full sizer pilots and one ACE homebuilder.

Quite often we would let a full size pilot fly one of our more docile models

The normal reaction was

"Ye Gods!!!! This is much harder to fly than the full size!!"