Formosa Rocks!

Marc Humphries

Hi folks - I threw a Formosa together as a way to get me back into RC flying after a gap of 12 years or so. I initially flew it stock with a 2S 800 Lipo. It flew like it was on rails, though a little slow. Since it was my first real aileron model it suited me just fine. As an aerobatic trainer I can't think of how you could spend a better £20 or so. When it was time to pep things up, an email to Brian Collins resulted in a 120W power set up being recommended. http://www.brchobbies.com/?page=shop&action=additem&item=80.

Just had it's first flight this morning on this set up with a GWS 7 x 6 and a FlightPower 3S 1200 Lipo - working from home does have it's advantages...

Wow! The little Formosa is transformed! More or less unlimited vertical performance but still retaining it's rock steady characteristics. Got over 12 minutes on this set up and the noise from the motor/prop has a quiet growl - sounds like a very well muffled 4 stroke. Great stuff!

Advert

Hi Marc which Formosa is it? the Mk 1 or II? also what sort of wattage are you pulling?
Mine is on order but hasn't arrived yet. Flew a friends Formosa Mk1 last Saturday and was very impressed, flys like a much bigger model and goes where it is pointed. Haven't built a foamie before so a bit nervous about glues and hinge materials, may need to ask your advice if the postie ever delivers it LOL

Hi Danny - I've got the cheapo Mk1. It's flying on around 120 watts at the mo and with that power it has a very sprightly performance. I chickened out of the vertical climb when it was getting a little too small for comfort! As my post says - even on the stock motor and gearbox it flies well. Consecutive rolls, loops from level flight, multiple cuban 8s - it's all there for you if you are fairly new to aerobatics.