Motor selection

As an electric newbie I have tried to read as much asI can before asking silly questions.

As a ic nut of over 50 years of flying, I could eye up a model, put a 40,60 or 90  motor plus right size prop and away to go. Not so with electrics lol.  Ok, for a start I use  the80-100w /lb for motor. I would like to use a 3s battery and appropriate sized esc. What I need now is a KV NUMBER TO FLY SPORT PLANES.  Would this be low around 950 1500 kv. I would then try a selection of props and a watt meter.  THANK YOU.

33 minutes ago, Fly Boy 3 said:

As an electric newbie I have tried to read as much asI can before asking silly questions.

As a ic nut of over 50 years of flying, I could eye up a model, put a 40,60 or 90  motor plus right size prop and away to go. Not so with electrics lol.  Ok, for a start I use  the80-100w /lb for motor. I would like to use a 3s battery and appropriate sized esc. What I need now is a KV NUMBER TO FLY SPORT PLANES.  Would this be low around 950 1500 kv. I would then try a selection of props and a watt meter.  THANK YOU.

It depends upon the type and size of model.

A small fast delta foamy with a pusher prop might need a 2200kv motor with a 5 inch prop.

A large slow trainer might need an 850kv motor with a 12 inch prop.

It also depends upon the current rating of the motor. Unsurprisingly,  motors with a higher current rating can turn a larger prop than a lower rated motor assuming that they have the same kv rating. 

I use propCalc to determine the best motor/esc/prop combination. 

1 hour ago, Fly Boy 3 said:

As a ic nut of over 50 years of flying, I could eye up a model, put a 40,60 or 90  motor plus right size prop and away to go. Not so with electrics lol.