ASP engines

Andrew has hit the nail on the head.

The engines are the same, friends of mine have bought engines from both places and they are identical. The only issue is that IF something went wrong with the HK motor you are in for a 'fun' time where as JE have really good service and will help you out.

No matter who you buy from, make sure you run the engine in right...ie, ignore the instructions as they are out of date

There is also the thorny question of supporting a UK business with an excellent reputation or sending your money off to China. Don't get me wrong, I buy plenty of items from HK, but at some point we really do need to consider whether we want UK based hobby suppliers or not, and how much it's worth in cash terms to be able to ring them up for help and advise.

I've been using ASP engines for many years and have been very happy with their performance versus price. OK, they're not as powerful as an OS and the finish is not to the very high standard of more expensive motors, but with one exception I've never had one fail.

I get my engines from HK as the price is just too good to go anywhere else.

Edited By Cuban8 on 17/07/2015 10:37:47

I have been generally happy with ASP although they are not as well made/finished as OS.

I recently bought an ASP120FS from HK (others have come from Just Engines) and found that the castings were not as well finished off as my other ASPs and some excess material prevents me from using my normal plug spanners. The general finish of the engine is not up to the other ASPs I have bought. However - the important bit - this is the first ASP I have had a problem setting up and it has had a history of running rich on the bottom end - I've done everything, tank, lines, leaks etc even replaced the carb but it will only continue running when throttled back if the mixture is set rich. When in flight the engine works fine above slow running. At about the same time I bought a new OS 120 FS - - marvellous! No problems at all.