Foam Model Repair

Alan Thorpe

Hi everyone,

I am in process of repairing a foam Focke Wolf after an unscheduled meeting with rocks on landing!

The problem I have is that some of the foam at the wing root leading edge is missing, I couldn't find it at the crash site.

What would be the best way to build it back up? I'm guessing with blue foam or balsa block, but not sure.

The area is at the leading edge wing root and is immediately forward of the landing gear bay, as circled in red below.

Thanks!
Alan

focke-wolfe-190-a3[1].jpg

I have no experience with it, but just the other day I saw a video on You Tube of a bloke making a foam cored wing using canned expanding foam.

Is there any way you could create a mould or skin to enclose the space to be filled and to then inject some foam. As the foam expands, you would need to have bleed holes to allow excess foam to escape.

Plummet

In my experience, that area is much too big to fill with DIY expanding foam.

You may be able to use blue foam. Personally I always go for soft balsa block. The advantages of blue foam are lightweight and easy sanding to shape. Disadvantages, unless you fibreglass coat it, it will dent more easily than the original foam.

Whichever you use, cut out enough of the original foam to give some straight edges to bond too. Use PU expanding glue (eg gorilla glue) to bond in your block, which is cut to fit in nice and tight, probably over size where you'll be sanding it back later. If possible wrap the whole repair area with masking tape which will prevent the foam creeping everywhere. Allow to dry and then use knife and sanding block to get the shape back.

I usually finish by covering the affected area with lightweight fibreglass cloth, but you may get away with primer and paint.