Electric help required

Hi

I have just started a build of a Porterfield Collegiate, it was designed for a brushed motor with a reducer but I want to fit a brushless motor but as I am a returning modeler with no experience of these motors can anyone offer some advice and /or recommend a suitable motor, speed controller and battery size I would need

The model is 69" span, its an old astro flight kit

Thanks

Dougie

Advert

Dougie,

Welcome back to the fold!

You could do much worse than speak to George Worley who is 4Max, who will be able to specify and supply the entire power train and all of the accessories needed to hook it up. My experience of his equipment is that although presumably mainly Chinese, it is robust and I particularly like his LiPos. He is a helpful fount of advice and information.

You could probably undercut him at somewhere like Hobbyking but penny wise ....

BTC

4Max have several sections of their website showing recommended setups. Worth looking for a similar type model with comparable size and weight. Note that similar sorts of model there have similar span but very different weight and therefore different sizes of Lipo and motor. Lots of useful info on that site.

Dougie

Outerzone have a plan and a 'period' review of the Astro Flight Porterfield Collegiate.

The original kit came in at 63 oz although it was suggested that a heat shrink film would save up to 8 oz over the cloth and dope used.

A Brushless motor and LiPo instead of a geared brushed and NiCd would save some more weight so my guess is it would be realistic to assume it might be near to 48 oz or 3 lbs particularly with modern lightweight RC gear..

At that weight a 450 Watt motor would give it a 'lively' performance with a power loading of 150 Watts/lb. It would cruise 'sedately' with a corresponding increase in flight duration on less than half of that figure.

I hope this helps.

Edited By Simon Chaddock on 04/06/2020 22:18:32