Rib Plotting by Computer

Hi Guys

In the first stages of building a Chilli Wind, but with a built up wing rather than foam. For the first time in many years I tried the sandwich method to produce the ribs, but so far, results are not encouraging and I doubt they'll get any better.

So, looking for a better way.

Keep hearing about various rib plotting programmes, such as Compufoil etc. but I have no experience with these, and my computer skills remain firmly in the stone age.

So, can anyone suggest a simple to use programme I can download, and a quick 'how-to' on using it?

Hoping for some help

Cheers

Jeff

Hi Adrian, thanks for the quick reply.

Did have a look at the site you linked to, but it seems only to be a way of plotting an individual aerofoil according to your needs.

Might be missing something, but I couldn't see it being used to plot intermediate rib profiles, from root and tip templates.

Am I getting this wrong?

Jeff

You could try     profili2.com    for a rib plotting program with some free use (and some which require small payment.)    Very easy to use and print out basic ribs if you measure the length on your wing plan.   You just lay out the basic wing shape full size on a bit of paper then mark ribs and measure exactly length of each rib in millimetres.   

Or you could just 'pinch' the rib shapes from some other plan - look on Outerzone for a similar design perhaps a Kaos or another Joe Bridi design

Edited by kc
  • Like 1

Hi Jeffrey.

There are quite a few of us on here who already use rib plotting programs.

If it is not something you are going to do often, I would suggest asking if anyone can help you.

The trouble with software is that if you don't use it regularly you forget how to !

(a bit like other "skills" we have acquired over the years :classic_rolleyes:)

If you are building from any of the magazine plans Sarik should be able to provide you with laser cut parts. Cutting out wing ribs is boring !