Demonstrating 2.4 ghz video downlinks at shows

We have just been testing a wireless (radio) camera in the Hustle and were very impressed with the results.  

So much so that we are looking to stock them and would like to have them working at the shows this year... But the down-link as we know is in the 2.4Ghz band and I'm concerned this could be a problem at shows.

Any one had any experience of this?

Cheers,

Bryce.

Advert

I have some short term experience, and my guess would be YES there could be problem.
Its a shame / lack of foresight that the manufacturers of thes onboard camera systems have opted for the now very popular 2.4G band. Despite the GUID protocols etc, putting a reasonably high powered video transmitter in a model, alongside a 2.4G RC rx unit usually just swamps the signal being received from the tx. Not good.
I take it your test model was flown on 35Mhz ?
Any 2.4G models in close proximity to the tx may be affected ?

Posted by Timbo - Administrator on 23/03/2010 12:52:35:
there could be problem.
Its a shame / lack of foresight that the manufacturers of thes onboard camera systems have opted for the now very popular 2.4G band.

The possible major drawback in model radio suppliers opting for an open non-dedicated frequency!  It's not inconceivable that 2.4 GHz might give us major problems in the future if the wrong application comes along. 35 MHz, with it's narrow bandwidth restrictions, is at least virtually exclusive to flying and in the event of problems we have full recourse to the Home Office for enforcement.

I think the problem is if you have a 2.4 rx in that plane, because the video 2.4 transmitter is very close to the Rx it swamps it, hence the reason to use 35 mhz. But it shouldn't affect other planes on 2.4 as it will just appear as another 2.4 transmission to them and they should happily ignore it.

But if the show insists on 2.4 radio systems and doesn't allow 35 mhz anymore then
you are stuck.