Ultimate biplane

Hi all

I am new to this hobby and will be taking my a cert shortly, I have a low wing airplane that I bought secondhand to use when I have my Cert (using a trainer at the moment )

I have a bit of cash spare would like to buy a biplane, I am a bit of a petrol head so would like a petrol model.

I have been looking at the ultimate one by seagull which is a 90to 120 size and weighs 4.2 to 4.8kgs.

i have also been looking at the world models seagull which uses a 50cc petrol engine which weighs 5.9 to 6.8 kg.

i have mentioned the weight because I will be limited to 7kg.

the world models one is twice the price is it twice the plane?

can I put a petrol engine in the seagull model ?

anything else I have missed or general advice?

Mick

ps I won't flying this model until I have enough experience and then it will be with the experience guys at the club, just would like to own a really nice model.

Edited By Michael Black on 21/08/2014 11:00:32

Advert

Well - I'm certainly glad you added that last bit Mick! That's a hell of a step up!

First bear in mind that the Ultimate, great aeroplane that it is, will have no natural stability at all! Its designed that way, it will go exactly where you point it and has to be flown 100% of the time. Its like balancing a pole on the end of your finger - you get no "time off", it has to be corrected and steered all of the time!

Also, if its like most aerobatic bipes, it will glide like a brick! Very draggy. If you do end up dead stick you need to keep the nose well down and the speed well up. Then at the last second flair to land - its "make or bust" with these, there is no such thing as an OK dead-stick landing - its either perfect or its in pieces.