Blade CX2

Drew Barker

Anybody else in the world got one of these? I got mine from Steve Webb Models having had to pre order it and wait a week or 2. What a joy to wizz around in the living room with. OK, so I have broken a few rotor blades (Steve Webb to the rescue) but I haven't stopped laughing since I got it and I am new to this heli lark and it is easy to fly not so easy to pinpoint land but what do you expect after a month or so and the novelty has never worn off. There are photos in RCME from the show and I would hope to see a report sometime soonin the mag.

Drew, glad you like it. Yes, we saw it at the show and I too was very impressed with the look of it. Will you see a review in RCM&E? If Helger send one in we'll probably feature it, although we won't be chasing one as from what I can tell it's mechanically very similar to all the other contra-rotating helis out there. This being the case the handling is undoubtedly similar as well. No less impressive though and it's a good looker, too. Anyway, welcome to helicopter flying. I hope the bug bites!

• 1 month later...
I just bought my Blade CX2 from Sussex Model Centre when their new stock eventually arrived. After flying fixed wing gliders and IC for 20 odd years this is a fantastic introduction to rotary wing. What a hoot! And oh so pretty that even she-who-must-be-obeyed appreciated the indoor demo in the lounge!

• 1 month later...