Constant current

Simon Kirk

I'm trying to get my head around choosing motors etc for a few projects iv got lined up.
I'm a complete newbie when it comes to the whole picking motors props and esc.
I understand you need to pick an esc with 10 to 20 percent higher amp rating than the motors maximum amp, however iv also read about constant current playing a big part as obviously you dint want to be running your motor at its max current constantly.
And iv been using webocalc to try dial in correct props and motors for my super cub (already got a power set lined up from someone in my club but just using it as a theoretical practoce)

The trouble is all the motors I'm looking at on HK only list the max current, not constant.
Is there some way of working this out using maths?

Sorry I'm a complete novice when it comes to all this and iv read the tutorial on rcgroups but it doesn't mention finding constant current, just that you need to know it!

Thanks

Edited By Simon Kirk on 15/09/2016 08:29:54

Advert

It's the cooling that is important, if the motor is really well cooled then running it at the max constant amps wouldn't be a problem, but if it's tightly cowled with a large non-vented spinner then anything other than short bursts would see it overheating.

Plus with you Cub you won't be flying it round at full throttle so the continuous amps will be much less.

So use the same rules as ESC i.e. 10 to 20% headroom and you won't go wrong.

Just to move you on Simon, about current, this starts with your lipo. For example, a 2000 ma 3 cell lipo, maybe rated at 40C bursts, that is 40 x 2000ma = 80 amps, bursts, so that's 80 amp max.

The ESC then should be chosen to embrace that current, yet that current should seldom be reached with the correct prop

This is just a starter advice