Which Low Wing Trainer??

Chris gregg

hello,

With Christmas round the corner and me progressively learning to fly my eflite apprentice on advance mode come January i will be looking at getting a new plane, i am new to building planes so would like a low wing IC plane to advance to from my apprentice.

My question is when what plane is most forgiving and ''easier'' to handle? also i would like a plane that doesn't have to much assembly required as its my first ic model.

I do have specktum dx6 that i can use also would just need to buy the reciever to go into the plane.

Advert

For your first IC model I'd recommend something like the Black Horse Travel Air or Super Air or the Seagull 40.

They are all suitable for 40-50 size engines, something like an Irvine 46 or ASP 52.

You'll have to install your chosen engine and fuel tank, servos, receiver, battery and switch.

Fit the UC, glue the tail on and glue the wing halves together, glue and pin the control surfaces and set up the control throws, directions and centre of gravity.

A weekends work will see it done. The bits that take the longest are gluing the wing halves together and gluing the tail on..mostly waiting for the glue to dry. I use 1hr or 24hr epoxy.

Cheers

i understand the reason for a high wing trainer at 1st, better than a broken plane!

i just though with having experience with a high wing apprentice i could move to low wing, but it seems from you guys flying a high wing IC to electric high wing is completly different??

If thats the case i guess i should go with the high wing i just dont want to out grow the high wing to soon if you get me

thanks for all your replies

chris