Why learn aerobatics? How learn aerobatics?

Jonathan M

Neither old nor young, now in my early-50s, I started learning with an electric Riot three years ago and got my A about 18 months ago. I then tried a foam warbird - an eFlite Hurricane bought off a club-member - which was easy enough for me to fling around the sky and not rip off the retracts on landing, but not with any scale authenticity or real enjoyment. It was also unsuitable for our medium-rough patch, and the combination of foam, electric and ARTF (i.e. pretend) scale did nothing for me, so I sold it on.

So last autumn I bought an ARTF Acro Wot from my LMS and an ASP 70 FS from Just Engines. With much help from this forum, I learnt the essentials of getting it all together (IC, fuel, Ni-Mh batts, essential field kit) and now have a dozen or so successful winter flights under my belt.

What a lovely, real model, which can properly cope with our rough site and all sorts of wind conditions, and which I'm really enjoying.

But flying around just for the sake of it and/or not very well annoys me, and my thoughts are turning to aerobatics - classic stuff, nothing hooligan or too competitive. However I'm not quite the fit young thing I once was with 20:20 vision and quick-to-learn hand-eye skills. Muscle-memory takes longer to acquire, reactions are slower, the reptilian part of the brain doesn't contain the vast database of responses and instincts that it does for the various sports and dangerous activities I did in my yoof.

So I looked up the B Certificate, and this month's BMFA newsletter led me to the GBR/CAA and their entry-level Clubman Schedule (which, as I understand it, no longer requires a B). I then read the various articles on this site about trimming a plane for aerobatics, about the sequence of stick-commands for rolls, hesitation rolls, stall-turns, spins, etc.