Flair Cub electric conversion from 'new'

559C743E-262D-4AFE-B974-D76B28FB62CF_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.70c1be2dda779b6fccab418f4a5648b5.jpeg

This is my first attempt at an online build log - so bear with me. I have built around

15 traditional balsa models since retiring from commercial aviation, so although I know

a little bit, but I'm still learning !!

I managed to acquire this Flair Cub from the local free cycle facebook page - the fuselage

was part built, the foam core wings and all accessories were in the box!. It looks as if the

local mice had eaten the plans and the ailerons, but for a freebee, had to give it a go.

• Like 1

Although a simple build, I found a set of plans on line, but unfortunately rather blurred, the significant

information concerning CofG, and control surface ranges are inside a mouse somewhere, so if 

anyone can enlighten me, it would be most appreciated.

I have already started started the refurbishment and electric conversion, so the time scale on the blog

may seem a bit odd.

My main concern was the original build as the box still had the original balsa cement

in it, not that I was going to use it again, but I was concerned about the strength of 

the existing joints. I have also decided that the wings need to be attached by bolts

not bands, the battery needs to be accessed from the top and finally to be in 

WW2 US army invasion livery.

• Like 1

4 minutes ago, Richard Leech 3 said:

My main concern was the original build as the box still had the original balsa cement

in it, not that I was going to use it again, but I was concerned about the strength of 

the existing joints. I have also decided that the wings need to be attached by bolts

not bands, the battery needs to be accessed from the top and finally to be in 

WW2 US army invasion livery.

I'd be flooding all of the joints in the liteply with Deluxe Superphatic - should be good as new after that.