Flight Simulators. Do they help?

Geoff Smith 1

Geoff, flight sims weren't around (OK, neither were PCs!) when I learnt to fly fixed-wing. But I did find them invaluable when I expanded my repertoire a few years back to include helis.

To my mind where they help greatly is in training ourselves to respond to a situation without having to conciously think about it. When I fly a model towards me I don't have to think which way to move the sticks - though 30-odd years ago when I started learning I most certainly did have to! Now going through that initial learning phase with the "real thing" you are prone to making mistakes, and that can potentially be a bit expensive. So get that bit out of the way on the sim and you're a step ahead in the game.

When I started with helis I put in a lot of time on the sim, and always tried anything new on the sim before risking it for real. For instance I did a lot of nose-in hovering on the sim before I dared try it with the actual heli. Later on I found I was very uncomfortable transitioning between nose-in and tail-in when turning the nose to my right, but was OK with it to the left. This meant that when flying for real I avoided the right-hand transition and so practiced the left-hand transition more. This obviously made the difference between the two even worse, so I went back to the sim and spent an hour or two just practicing the "difficult" right-hand transition. The following afternoon flying for real the improvement was remarkable.

So yes the sim can help, but certainly won't teach you everything. There are still diffierences - but it can give you a good head-start.

Yes. But ok, not perfect as most people are far more anxious when flying a real model if a beginner, but they do help get some orientation I think. Or at the least, make people realise that model flying takes practice.