Flying height restrictions for planes under 7kg

Looking at the CAA guide, it does not appear to give a restriction. Over 7kg is 400ft. I am very new to flying, but am now gaining confidence quickly and flying as carefully as I can and within my limits. I do think however that I possibly went over 400ft today. I am very lucky to have recently gained regular access to a very large area of agricultural land in a valley with great hillside launching on one side and a wide open huge flat field in the valley. I am far away from any houses, but the site is on route and within a few miles of a local airport. I fly a Parkzone Radian.

Advert

Hi Simon. Does the aircraft overfly your field on approach or take off from the local airport?, ie has it got a runway or is it a large open grass field where the aircraft take off & land into the wind? If yes then the height restriction will be lower than 400ft. Inquire at the local airport for the maximum safe height for your field.

Keith

Simon, much depends on just how near the airport is. From memory if you are over around two and a half miles away you should be OK unless as Keith says you are under a flight path.

Some years ago, the field I flew on was just outside this limit, but we informed the airport's ATC where we were and the times we were flying.

Sometimes light aircraft en route to the airport, where there was/is a flying school, came down quite low seeming to want to have a look at what we were doing. This usually generated a call from us to ATC and other planes made a detour round out patch. Presumably the instructors were told about our activities and avoided directly overflying our field. We always kept a lookout for such full size planes and came down low or landed whenever there was one about.

HTH, Malcolm