Gere Sport

AndyD

71avalon07.jpgNow my ballerinas up and flying a new project is needed,seeing Peter Millers arolab lo-camp got got me really intrested with a radial engine upfront,but now ive gone all electric im missing a bi-plane so a search started,big,simple to build open radial.sport scale(not up to the the John Ranson/Danny Fenton build quality)so the Gere sport with rotec radial seems to fit the bill,built and owned by Richard Shaw ive started drawing up my plans,as its going to be third scale the radial is going to be the challenge,useing Peters article on making dummy radials ive started the engine first as if it dont work out it will probally be abandoned,as im new to build threads im useing it to motivate myself as it worked well with the ballerina.14-1geresport.jpg

Advert

001.jpg002.jpg004.jpg006.jpg008.jpg009.jpgafter 4 or 5 hrs ive got lots of discs,lots of discs, a cheap hole cutter was used/more like a medeival thing of torture,luckly hands and fingers were kept clear,lots of concentration as i think it would hurt some if digits got in the way,health and safety spring to mind.010.jpg

Hi cymaz i did think about bigger holes but if its anything like the bud nosen 70s kit it will be tail heavy,but then again his was 96 1/4 inch span using a geared .60 10cc engine,people are now putting 50cc petrol engines in them aspecially zenoah 60 to try and ballance them,time will tell.

thx Peter not sure how to do it but here goes.

thx Peter great drawings not sure i will do them justice,just been weighing all the parts,pretty heavy about 2 Ib,but then again its third scale and the motor is bolted inside it then the whole lot bolts to the fuz like a normal_ist engine, so if needed a normal ic engine can be bolted to the plane ,well thats the idea.

030.jpg031.jpg034.jpg035.jpgsort of cymaz,i can see it all in my head but putting it into practice and on papers another matter.