laser cutter

I am a keen scratch builder and want to buy a laser cutter to cut ribs / formers etc in balsa and ply. I will need a machine that can cut parts for planes up to about 80" wingspan. Can anyone recommend a suitable make / model of machine capable of doing this that is not going to cost an arm and a leg? Any help appreciated.

Advert

a good router cutter will be as good as a laser cutter for cutting out ribs etc in ply or balsa wood .

many pros and cons , one issue that should be considered is the cost of the lamp some are expensive but last longer and cheep ones not so. also do't forget the software to operate.

This makes interesting reading.

It describes in detail making a 3D printer using CoreXY plotting based on aluminium extrusions and standard 3D printer parts.

Once he has that working, he then changes it so the head can be changed from an extruder to a laser cutter.

A YouTube intro and links to the build logs can be found here.

Definately food for thought.

• 6 months later...

I actually thought about getting a laser cutter of my own. I had quite a few parts to make here and there and finding a manufacturer was a real pain in the ass. Looking for similar info like you, I stumbled upon this site. It actually makes getting a few parts easy, so I buried the thought. Maybe you can find some relief here as well laugh

I have a Ex school Denford Cnc router,,,it’s taken a age to set up and found software trying,,,

only just started to get good results,,,,,

my mate has purchased a cnc 4 axis router of internet,,, cones complete with everything you need,,, it’s very good and appears to be fairly easy to sort out .

and there’s the problem,,,,,if you need it for a one of job it probably won’t be cost effective,

if if you like to play and learn go for it,,,

although you can do 3D on a router,,, the laser is more forgiving if the speeds are to high..

I would prefer a Laser cutting machine over a router, if I was starting a fresh ..