Kev`s Chipmunk Build.

Kevin Fairgrieve

Firstly I need to say that I have not been doing this RC malarky as long as some, and certainly not up to the standard of most. I never built any Kiel Kraft or other such kits until recently. My very first building experience was building the plane that came with the book from the BBC series about 40 years ago. Can`t for the life of me think what it was called now.

I have no background in the ATC like a lot of you, and no flight experience in a Chipmunk., wish I had.

I started RC flying about 20 years ago. My first trainer was a Cosmo powered by an SC25 and it lasted four flights! My usual instructor was busy teaching another learner, so a helpfull soul said he would take me up. Keen as I was I took him up on his offer. Anyway from a great height and at full chat I made a great impression on the ground. Engine buried completely, airframe a complete write off. "I thought you were more experienced than that says he." My original instructor said it was the best thing I could have done as it was a pig of a plane. I of course at that time knew no better.

Got myself another trainer and proceeded to learn the basics.

Deciding that I needed another model, I bought a Flair Cub. Built it (my first ever build) flew it and still have it. I did my first full solo flight with the Cub. !

It took me a long time to learn to fly and I went back to a trainer,a Ripmax Trainer40, as the Cub I found was not the ideal model for me to improve on.

I was just about getting to grips with everything when life got in the way. I took a sabbatical and returned to flying in 2008. Having kept all my gear it was an easy thing to do. I joined my local club having moved in the mean time. Buddied with an instructor for the first three flights and was back at it like a duck to water. took my "A" in 2010 and have not looked back.

My fleet now consists of..

Flair Cub. Presently mothballed.

Flair Pup. OS52FS

Flair Legionaire. ASP48FS