Hi-Noob builder thinking about making a IC Ballerina

Two Six

Hi Folks, I have never built a balsa model before. I am seriously thinking about starting. I have all the stuff I need to get building.

I was considering building the CliffWhacker but I feel queezy about the whole no engine thing...I also really fancy another IC powered model. I have a Seagull Boomerang and the field kit for it so another glow powered model would be nice.

I also have an old Enya 35 engine that's still pretty good...I think...that I am considering using. Or I might get a new hobbyking motor..not sure yet.

Perhaps I shouldn't base a new build on such an old engine.

It has been fairly abused by me in my younger years when I used to run it on a bench. It flew once, crashed once and has sat about for years. Still that said, it does run OK. I am going to test it again with a nice new fuel system to see how it runs. Then I can decide...

Anyhow, just a note to say hi and check in.

Where should I start with this project?

Hi two six. I can fully recommend having ago at building the ballerina. Weather you decide to cut your own parts or laser cut, you will really enjoy it. It's my first scratch built plane. The wealth of knowledge on the forum is second to none, so there is always help and support when needed. Go on, have a go. You know you want too. 😆😆😆

Hi two six

Have you flown a low winger before?

Try a kit such as a DB Sport and Scale Mascot as a first build. **LINK** or perhaps a Sky40 from Tony Nijhuis. The 35 should be ok for the Mascot but perhaps not the Sky40.

Then build Ballerina as a longer time 2nd project. She really is nice to build and a credit to Pete Miller. I'm really pleased with mine.

Hope that helps

Some great encouraging responses so far. Thanks. I have read quite a few build blogs and the getting started thread. So I have a LITTLE BIT of an idea as to what's required.

Have I flown a low winger, nope.