Help with problem re newly purchased ESCs and motors

Hi,

I'm relatively new to electric flight but do have a general understanding, having had one or two electric planes.

I've hit a problem with some new motors and esc's from HK. I bought:

Motor A: turnigy 3536/5 1450kv (2-4s, max 45A)

Motor B: turnigy 2826/10 1400kv (2-3s max 21A)

Turnigy SBEC 60A esc

Turnigy 40A Plush esc

I connected motor A to 60A esc and connected these to Channel 3 on a new and fully tested and functioning Orange DSM2 Rx. When i powered the esc up (using a new and fully charged Zippy 2200 3s lipo) the motor bleeps 3 times and twitches. When I then turn tranny on nothing happens, no additional sounds and no throttle response. I exchanged the motor for motor B and exactly the same happened.

Thinking it was the esc I changed to the 40A Plush esc, still on motor B. When I powered up the esc with a 3s lipo again, the esc started continually beeping slowly. When I switched th tranny on it started beeping quickly and continually and there was still no throttle response. Confused I swapped motor B for motor A and exactly the same happened.

I do not understand esc's enough to know what might be going on here. Surely it can't be that both esc's or even both motors are faulty.

Can anyone please shed some light on the matter?

Advert

Switching the receiver on before the transmitter has probably sent the esc into safe mode.

Always switch on your transmitter before attaching the battery to the esc and make sure the throttle is set to the "off" position. if it is still the same, it could be your throttle needs reversing on the transmitter.

Have you calibrated the ESC's?

If not try that

Remove the prop

Switch on TX

Put throttle to Full

Power up the ESC - you should get three bleeps then close the throttle to minimum

Power off the ESC

count to three

Power up the ESC - you should get three bleeps and a "burble"

It should work......