Newbie attempts Ben Buck Junior 60

Tom Clayton

Hello all.

I've recently bought a Ben Buckle Electric Junior 60 kit. I bought it after seeing it on Youtube ('Glorious Cocklebarrow at it's vintage best' and then because 'the man in the shop' told me I wouldn't have the skill to build it (that could of been a double bluff. If it was I fell for it) I took this as a challenge. I've never built an RC aeroplane before, and I need advice. I've already talked to Pat(mc), who has been great and Chris, both very encouraging. I'm okay at construction - but know nothing, and understand less, about electronics.

Advert

I need someone, or even more than one, to either confirm, or tell me otherwise, about the gear I'm considering.

1/ Brushless electric motor: Prodrive 3536 1800kv

3/ Lipo Battery:Turnigy 2200Ah 3S 35C Lipo Pack

4/ Servos: advice needed about best type to buy

5/Prop: Aerostar 12x5 (or 12x6) electric series beech wood prop

Thanks - Tom

Tom, the advice that this is not a good first build is sound. It is a lightweight, complex structure, and needs a fair bit of past experience to sucesfully complete.

And once done, there are in 2017 better primary trainers in the world.

To make matters worse, many modern experienced flyers no longer onderstand the aerodynamics of something which first flew 75 years ago, with the fitted technology of that date.

Edited By Don Fry on 29/08/2017 13:21:21

Tom

To be quite honest, This type of construction was the norm for many young modellers back in the 50 and 60s. True, we started with smaller models but that was because a Junior 60 kit cost £3 and that was a heck of a lot of money. For a little more you could buy a good engine.

We did have some basic books and articles on building but most of the time we just followed the instructions and got on with it,

So, While it might not be the perfect choice of a first build it can be done.