My hobbyzone Carbon Cub S2 1.3m BNF Basic Trainer Build

toto

Hi there,

I know I'm just in the door but even as a beginner I thought I might as well record my first attempt at building my first kit no matter how basic. This post will follow the ( what should be ) a simple build of an ARTF Hobbyzone Carbon Cub S2 1.3m BNF Basic kit.

Now, there may be a few groans from the seasoned modellers and flyers but as a complete newbie myself, I know that this is the kind of thread that other newbies will look for on joining.

I have just bought two trainer kits. This one, and a Seagull Cessna Turbo Skyline 182 ARTF.

The latter was my first purchase a few days ago as I like the more traditional balsa kits and after looking at it, feel that I am capable of having a go at building this. It gives a bit more involvement in servo and linkage geometry than that of the Carbon Cub and It will certainly take more build time to build. The Carbon Cub was an attempt to get something that would get me airborne and training as quickly as possible.

I have watched a " how to " on this model on Utube and to he honest, think it's pretty straight forward with the exception of one seemingly know trait of this kit.

Apparently ...... the bagging and tagging of some of the smaller components ( we are specifically talking screws here ). Is a bit abysmal and needs a bit of " self logic / investigation ".

I ordered this kit today from Elite Models and based on their pretty good delivery times experienced on other items ordered so far, guesstimate taking delivery of the kit by midweek. I am also awaiting delivery of a couple of suitable batteries and Pectrun NX6 and other odds and ends this week as well.

My intention would be to start and complete the build by next weekend ( delivery dependant ). I'd say that the build will take me half a day giving time for identification of said screws and a general familiarisation etc. I may he proven wrong.