Maiden flight looming

oO Chris Oo

Hi all, I'm new to the hobby and brought myself a dx7s, Phoenix flight simulator for Christmas my girlfriend also brought me the e-flits sbach 342

I hope someone could help me ? The dx7s came with a rechargeable battery. I had it plugged in on charge for around 13 hours and it wasn't fully charged according to the L.E.D however in the booklet it says do not charge for over 12 hours ? how long is it safe to charge the battery for. ?

Also after 10 hours practicing on Phoenix flight simulator I think I'm going out 2moro on my maiden flight weather permitting !

Does anyone have any tips ?

Thanks
Chris (the noob)

Advert

Hi Chris and welcome to the forum and the hobby.

It's difficult to know about the battery because it depends on the battery capacity in mAh and the charge rate of the supplied charger. As a rule of thumb it is safe to leave the battery on charge as long as it isn't getting warm. So you could leave it on longer if you can be checking it every now and again.

As for the sbach 342, you are very brave having that as a first model.
How are you doing on the simulator with a similar model selected?
What I would suggest if at all possible would be to make contact with your nearest club and have an experienced pilot at least check it out and make sure it's trimmed.

Conventional wisdom is that almost everyone learns faster and has less costly crashes if they learn with a trainer model, and with an instructing pilot. This will almost certainly reduce costly crashes etc.

Clubs can be found in the lists on the BMFA website.

Hi Chris thanks for the fast reply !

I'll keep and eye out on the tranny then and just keep checking the temp from what I've read the NiMH batteries are safer than the lipo's anyway... The battery in the transmitter is a 2000mAh 4.8V NiMH if that means any think !

Yer im not to sure if it was the best buy as my first plane I've watched a few video and it looks quite nippy. !!!