P-51B - Tony's new design for the 2013 Special Issue

I've been chatting to Tony around a new model for our 2013 Special Issue....we've now settled on something, it's a warbird, something he's not done before. It's a P-51D in fact.

Now I know some folks will raise their eyes a little given the ubiquitious nature of the machine, in model form at least but hopefully most will agree with me when I say that you can't have too many P-51s wink 2

I'll leave Tony to fill in the blanks and hopefully he'll blog his progress here too. I think he's settled on electric and 60"'ish span.

Edited By David Ashby - RCME on 29/01/2013 08:04:49

Interesting news! He will have to get a move on!

One thought... just to lob in my two penny worth. What about getting him to show a P51B alternative on the plan?

It might need one or two different formers, but not much else. Personaly I'm not sure I'd build a D. I tend to go for slightly more unusual options, and slightly more unusual scemes. If I want a USAF P51 D ARTF options abound, but the idea of building a B in RAF coulours might tempt me.

I wonder if showing formers for the alternative might make the plan more attractive to a number of builders.

As I said - just my ramblings!

Edited By GrahamC on 29/01/2013 08:28:42

Cool, my favourite. I know some people will think oh no not another P-51D, but there are thin pickings for decent looking Mustangs of this size. I am still pedalling my old Kyosho one with a OS 62fs, one day I will need to replace it. A good idea to show the changes needed for a B version. Will it have flaps, and could the retracts be designed to give a good forward rake for us flying from less than perfect grass patches?

Well, good luck, hope it goes well, but have to say that's yet another year when the opportunity to do something to demonstrate a fresh approach and really add to whats out there (like Black Horse with the Westland Wyvern) slides past, and this decision carries no interest at all for me.