The Frustrations Of learning To Fly At A Club

Dai Fledermaus

I know it's been discussed on this forum many times, and I know it makes sense for someone new, or someone returning to the hobby to join a club and get proper tuition, but it hasn't worked out for me

Now I have to admit that I'm not very good at pushing myself to the front of the queue, as it were, and I don't enjoy bothering people too much. When I joined a local club, everyone there was very friendly and made me welcome, but I found that although the club had several members who were qualified as Trainers, I found myself standing around for hours waiting for one of them to offer to give me a lesson with my own ic trainer. As a new member I didn't feel I knew them well enough to go and ask for a lesson and to be fair to them they were there to fly their own aircraft. One chap there, who like me was a novice, said "you'll have to go and ask some to help or you'll just be hanging around all day"

One senior member did take me under his wing and I did get in a few tentative flights, but he was often not there on the days I was at the field and visa versa. The field was about 40 mins away, so it wasn't exactly on my doorstep and I found it all a bit frustrating really. Gradually as the weather changed and the opportunities for a novice to get some flights in became fewer, I stopped going.

So what now? Well, I'm not giving up, I determined to teach myself. I live in an area where there is a lot of common land with just a few sheep and the odd pony to worry about. I'll renew my BMFA membership in the New Year, buy a Blixer 2 or Easy Star or something similar and just get on with it. I can go when it's convenient for me and when the weather permits. Then, when I think I'm reasonably competent, I'll join a club because despite what I've said I think club membership is ultimately the way to go. It's just that learning to fly at a club didn't work for me.

Advert