Hi Everyone

James 1

Hi , newbie here !

Just wanted to say hi to you all as i have created an account and thought i would get involved with the forums...I have been reading the forums and threads for about a week now before deciding to jump in, so i have a bit of knowledge already from what you guys discuss ... let me tell you, all of your builds are incredible ! i really hope i can get to that level of engineering !

I am an engineer myself (electric and gas) so the idea of crafting/building planes appeals to me more than flying (although it still excites me - the thought of building my own flying machine and being able to watch it soar through the skies!)

Like i have said, i have started from no knowledge of building planes but just from reading the forums i have a little knowledge now regarding techniques and resources, and hope to start practicing on foam and balsa in the next few days (when it arrives!) I already have a few different glues/adhesives from work which will help.

I do have a plane which i use now and again, but its only a cheap park flyer which gets carried away with the wind so isnt the best to practice with haha

I have always had a keen interest in Warbirds, especially WW1 and WW2 ... i often go to airshows and aircraft museums ....

anyway ... this is starting to sound more like a CV haha !

I really want to make a Spitfire ( i know, doesn't everyone!) but there's a bit of a connection... i live on, what used to be, a very big airfield during the war and we housed many aircraft . There is also a Spitfire on a podium on a local roundabout which everyone is real proud of ... so i want to use this design

Image result for thornaby spitfire

so there it is, and hopefully i can do it justice !

if anyone has any tips for me which i may not have seen on the forums please let me know ... would be appreciated .