Motocalc or Ecalc?

I am fairly new to electric flight, but am getting there.

I more or less know my way round my Wattmeter, but am keen to learn more!.

As far as I can see there are really only two Calculator Templates, Moto calc and e.calc.

I have had a play with both free versions, and I prefer e.calc.

Before I purchase the full version of either, has anybody any experience of both, and the pros and cons please?

Advert

I have MotoCalc and eCalc and have used both for many years, MotoCalc right back to the days of brushed motors and Nimh batteries. Whilst I believe that both are pretty accurate, my view is that eCalc is the more flexible and has a better database of motors and props. To that extent, I have pretty much given up on MotoCalc. I bought a new PC in July and have not yet loaded MotoCalc onto it because I have not missed it yet. I also have a few EDF models and eCalc also covers these in their FanCalc module. The only thing with eCalc is you do not have a program and your data recorded, so if eCalc goes belly up, then you have to start anew.

I have used eCalc from 300W small hand launch models through the 1600W power system on the 1/4 scale Tiger Moth in my avatar, which was chosen using eCalc up to a 2500W 80in wingspan CAP232 aerobat and twin 90mm EDF jet running 2 x 3000W motors, all with acceptable accuracy.

Edited By PeterF on 17/10/2019 12:30:24

I use eCalc and tend to rely on it for initial settings for new models but I have to admit to not being familiar with the others mentioned above. I have eCalc, it works and it has a comprehensive database of prop, battery and motors that hasn't let me down - yet! The only thing I'd like added to it would be a simple way to save motor setups, you can give your configuration a name but I've yet to find out how to save it!

Posted by Bob Cotsford on 17/10/2019 13:01:33: