Just saying hello!

Greetings one and all!

I am a newbie on this forum and have yet to find my way around and a suitable milieu. In all other respects 'new' could not describe me.

I learned to fly RC back in the 1970s, building from kits, then started designing my own models in the mid '80s, started in electric power about 10 years later and happily gave up the noisy and smelly for something altogether more peaceable.

Over the years I have had something over 30 of my designs published, mostly via Traplet (a name that I can happily mention here without being lynched since they ran themselves out of business!) but I think only 2 here - A Curtiss Hawk 75 and a glow-powered Jet Provost.

Over the years I have first noticed how vastly over scale speed we traditionally fly our 'scale' aircraft, then grown sick of it and decided to do something about it, designing lighter airframes that can achieve scale speed so as to complete the impression a scale model ought to give.

I enjoy a challenge such as my recent 1/10th scale Short Stirling offered in terms of Gouge flaps and a DIY retract system true to the original design concept. This was simply made with materials from the local model shop (long may they live) and although it suffered quite a few failures during development, was most satisfying once working right.

Other recent designs are the deHavilland Leopard Moth, Dragonfly, Fox Moth and the Percival Q6. My plans are mostly available from Sarik Hobbies. I hope by joining here to be able to help anyone building from my plans or struggling to get to grips with electric power. Or who knows I might be able to design a rarely-seen model for you to build - if there's enough life left in me!

I look forward to talking to you.

Best wishes,

Robin

Advert

Thanks D.D. and Martian, I'm here to help. I think I've achieved a little over the years and it'd be a shame to take secrets to the grave that others should have benefited from.